French Open 2021

French Open 2021: The historic clay-court event comprises singles, doubles, and mixed doubles play and will take place in Paris from May 30 to June 13. The second Grand Slam of the season sees the tennis elite head to Roland Garros for the 2021 French Open.

Both the men’s and women’s events will feature 128 players battling it out for a prize pool of around €34 million in the 125th edition of the prestigious major.

Here’s what you need to know:

What: 2021 French Open, Men’s Semifinals

When: Friday, June 11, 2021

Where: Roland Garros


8 a.m. – 3:30 p.m., Tennis Channel (fuboTV, free trial)

11 a.m. – 2 p.m., NBC/NBCSN (fuboTV, free trial)

Men’s Semifinals

Friday, June 11

Alexander Zverev vs. Stefanos Tsitsipas, 8:50 a.m. ET

Novak Djokovic vs. Rafael Nadal, 11:30 a.m. ET

Rafael Nadal is the reigning men’s singles champion, having beaten rival Novak Djokovic in straight sets in last year’s final to claim his 20th career Grand Slam title.

King of Clay Nadal has won the French Open on a record 13 occasions and is unbeaten in the event since 2017 and remains tied with Roger Federer on 20 career Grand Slams.

Novak Djokovic, who claimed a maiden French Open crown in 2016, returns to Roland Garros as the number one seed, having lost in a further four finals here.

Novak Djokovic and Rafa Nadal will add another chapter to their rivalry when they face off in a much-anticipated clash on Friday (June 11) but there will be more at stake than just a spot in the French Open final. A semi-final battle between world number one Djokovic and 13-time Roland Garros winner Nadal was the expected outcome once they were placed on the same side of the draw after the Spaniard slipped down the rankings to third behind Russian Daniil Medvedev.

It would be a 58th career meeting between the pair with Nadal looking to draw level with Djokovic on 29 wins while the victor would also book a 29th Grand Slam final appearance, behind only Roger Federer on 31. The 35-year-old Spaniard, a year older than Djokovic, is, however, the more dominant of the two on clay and has gone on to win the title at Roland Garros all 13 times he has reached the last-four stage.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *